Judgement Writing Competition by Lucknow University: Register by Sep 21

Judgement Writing Competition by Lucknow University: Register by Sep 21

About Lucknow University

Founded in 1867, Lucknow University is one of the oldest institutions of Indian higher education. It is affiliated with University Grants Commission; Association of Commonwealth Universities; Association of Indian Universities; Distance Education Council; National Assessment and Accreditation Council; National Council of Teacher Education and Bar Council of India.

About Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law, University of Lucknow is a pioneer legal institution in India. It was established in 1921 with three teachers.

About Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma

Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma, (born August 19, 1918, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India—died December 26, 1999, New Delhi), is the Former President of India. Dr Sharma pursued his higher education at Lucknow Universities and is an honourable Alumni of the University of Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

After earning a doctorate in law at the University of Cambridge, he attended Lincoln’s Inn in London and Harvard University. In 1940 he began his legal practice in Lucknow. After giving his contributions to the national struggle, in 1947 Dr Sharma became active in independent India’s political setup and held numerous political offices at the state and national levels.

General Rules

The following are the detailed rules and regulations of this Competition. Any deviation from the same shall result in immediate disqualification. Further, the University of Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh has full rights reserved to modify and cancel any rules as it deems fit to the situation at any time in due course of the competition and the decision of the Organising Committee shall stand final.


  • All students pursuing 3 years or 5-year L.L.B. courses or L.L.M. courses from a recognized Law School, University or Institution in India shall be eligible to participate.
  • Single author or Co-Authorship up to 2 authors shall be permitted. Authors may belong to the same or different Law School, University or Institution in India.
  • There is no restriction on the number of entries from any Law School, University or Institution in India.
  • A team of single or two authors will be considered eligible to participate only if the registration is completed on or before 21st September, 2022 (23:59 Hours IST).
  • The participants shall write a single opinion. Multiple opinions are not allowed.

How to Register?

  • Interested candidates must register through the link available at the end of the post.
  • The payment reference number and date of payment along with the Screenshot have to be inserted in the registration form and only then will the registration be deemed to be complete.
  • Scanned copies of Identity cards must be attached to the registration form.
  • Registration fees once paid are neither refundable nor non-transferable.
  • Any change in authorship will not be entertained after submission of the registration form unless the Organising Committee notices an exceptional circumstance.

Registration Fees

  • For single authors – INR 600
  • For Co-authors – INR 650
  • Payment Details:
    • Paytm, Google Pay, BHIM on Phone Number 8948054412 (AMRIT SINGH)] and NEFT ACCOUNT NUMBER: 39871265208; IFSC CODE: SBIN0006148; ACCOUNT HOLDER NAME: AMRIT SINGH; BANK NAME: STATE BANK OF INDIA.

Submission Guidelines

  • The soft copy of Judgment should be mailed to the e-mail of the Organising Committee:
    [email protected]
  • The manuscript submitted must be an original work of the author(s) and must not have been submitted or published elsewhere. Any sort of plagiarism shall amount to a penalty.
  • Word Limit is 3500-5000 words (exclusive of footnotes).
  • The manuscript must not disclose the identity of the author(s)(e.g. name, institution, etc.)
  • The cover page of the manuscript shall mention the team code at the top right corner.
  • The manuscript shall be submitted in MS Word format & PDF format.
  • The name of the file shall be like the example, where ‘01’ is the allotted team code. For example: JudgementSubmission01.docx; JudgementSubmission01.pdf.
  • Penalties for late submission are as below:
    • For every Six hours of delay in submission from the prescribed time of submission, one mark
      shall be deducted. Max. up to 4 (Four marks).

Formatting Guidelines

  • The language for writing the judgement shall be in ENGLISH only.
  • The author(s) shall strictly adhere to the 19th Bluebook Citation. Any citation found contrary shall amount to a penalty.
  • The manuscript shall be in A4 Layout with 1.5 line spacing, Margin-1 and justified.
  • Headings: Times New Roman, Size – 14, Bold.
  • Main body: Times New Roman, Size – 12.
  • Footnotes: Times New Roman, Size – 10, Line Spacing 1.5 and justified.
  • Page numbers – bottom centre
  • The first page of the Judgement must contain the Team Code, Name of the Court, Title, Number of the Case, Date of Delivery of Judgement, and Nature of the Case (Civil/Criminal/Writ).

Awards and Rewards

  • Cash prize of Rs. 4000 and Certificate of Merit shall be awarded to the Winner
  • Cash prize of Rs. 3000 and Certificate of Merit shall be awarded to the Runner-up
  • E-Certificate of Participation for all the participants.

Important Dates

  • Registration Deadline – September 21, 2022
  • Payment Deadline September 21, 2022
  • Last date to seek clarification – September 23, 2022
  • Release of clarification – September 25, 2022
  • Submission Deadline – October 8, 2022
  • Declaration of results – October 13, 2022

Contact Information

  • All queries & clarification regarding the proposition must be E-mailed to the Organizing Committee on mcc.lucknowuniv[at]gmail.com
  • For any further clarification or assistance, feel free to contact: Saamya Gautam at +91 79061 15775

Click here to register for the Judgement Writing Competition.

Quick Navigation