About HPNLU, Shimla
The Himachal Pradesh National Law University (HPNLU), Shimla was established by an Act of the Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha in the year 2016 (Act 16 of 2016). In the six years of its foundation, HPNLU, Shimla has seen tremendous growth and has undertaken a good number of innovative measures to enhance its academic potential. Led by the visionary scholar of law, the Vice-Chancellor Professor (Dr.) Nishtha Jaswal, the University has been very proactive in organizing a series of events encompassing a wide spectrum of socio-legal issues. Despite the spread of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and the ensuing lockdown, HPNLU, Shimla has been at the forefront of using digital platforms to conduct seminars, conferences, capacity building programmes and competition

Second National Mediation Competition is the second edition of the flagship event. After witnessing a great response and appreciation from the participants across 32 premier law colleges and assessors across the globe, this event is yet another step taken by the Centre for ADR and Professional Skills, HPNLU, Shimla towards acting as facilitator in increasing the Mediation among aspiring students. In the milieu of the backlog of cases reaching its saturation, Alternative Dispute Resolution such as Mediation and Negotiation provide an amicable way out.
The competition seeks to provide a prodigious experience that will amplify the interests of young minds in this niche practice of law. The competition will help students brainstorm probable solutions for a near to real challenges while providing them with the comfort of choosing their roles as per their preferences. It, therefore, tries to break the monotony of theory-based learning and helps students in putting their knowledge and skills to use.

The competition is open to every student pursuing a five-year or a three-year course in law from various Schools/Colleges/ Universities recognized by the Bar Council of India.

For eligibility, it is hereby clarified that all the participants in one team shall belong to one institution only. No cross-institutional composition of teams is allowed.

The provisional registration is to be done by the respective institutions officially. Each institution can reserve a maximum of two slots in the provisional registration.

Each team shall comprise 3 participants- one mediator, one client, and one counsel.
The roles of the participants shall remain the same throughout the rounds.


The Mediation Proposition shall be released after the closing of final registration.
There will be two preliminary rounds.
Post preliminary rounds, ballots will be scored for each team, and the top 8 client-counsel pair and Mediators will qualify for the quarter-finals.
Post-quarter-finals, the top 4 client-counsel pairs, and Mediators will qualify for Semi-finals.
The top two performers from each category of roles (Client X Counsel pair and Mediator) played by the participants will qualify for the final round.


Provisional registration will be opened for all eligible institutes from which thirty-two(32) teams will be selected for the competition.
Selection will be based on the screening process of each team individually. The institutes must complete the “Provisional Registration” only through the Google Form link annexed below, on or before 18th August 2022.

Registration link

The final list of teams (along with the waiting team list) will be
released by 20th August 2022.

The “Final Registration” shall be completed only when the participants pay the registration fees, which shall be done on or before 25th August 2022.

Final registration details will be released to participants individually via e-mail only after completing the provisional registration process.
Registration Amount – Rs. 3000/- per team.


The Competition will be virtual/online via Cisco Webex Portal.


The rewards for the Competition shall be declared in the due course.

30th July, 2022 – Opening of Provisional Registration
10th August, 2022 – Closing of Early-Bird Provisional Registration
18th August, 2022- Closing of Provisional Registration
25th August, 2022 – Closing of Final Registration


Saloni Paliwal
Convenor, ADR Society, HPNLU, Shimla Ph. 6265671886

Pakhi Jain
Convenor, CADR & PS, HPNLU Shimla Ph. 9412109909

Prachi Thakur Co-Convenor, ADR Society, HPNLU, Shimla Ph. 9515746965

Abhyudaya Raj Mishra
Senior Member, ADR Society, HPNLU, Shimla Ph. 8317010281

Quick Navigation